Marathon training week two

Well there’s a title I never expected to be writing again.

I don’t normally enthuse about anything but I’ve had a great time since entering the Loch Rannoch Marathon. It just feels so right to be working towards something big but achievable. Better still the doctor has cleared me to run. She asked a few questions and then took my blood pressure. It shows how much I want to do this that before she tested it I told her that my blood pressure is always considerably higher when I visit the doctor due to “white coat syndrome.” In the event the pressure was fine, almost normal in fact.

And I’ve had an early birthday present of two very important helpers :

It’s a rubbish photo but it is in fact a Garmin Forerunner and a heart rate monitor. Don’t ask how they work but they tell you everything you need to know when running about time, distance, pace, cadence(strides per minute), heart rate, elevation gain and so on. After the run it produces reports which geeks like me can pour over for hours :

 

100_1426

Because I’ve been running regularly all year my basic fitness levels aren’t too bad and as a result the first week of training has been pretty straightforward. It will get harder though!

6 thoughts on “Marathon training week two

  1. Great attitude! I can understand your enthusiasm for the gadgets. Being able to keep track of your progress will provide motivation in the weeks ahead, I’m sure.

    • Thanks Lorna. I’m not sure how much I’ll use the heart rate monitor – it seemed to be giving implausibly high readings today. But the watch will be immensely helpful.

  2. I miss my Garmin footpod. It went to the big tech overlords in the sky halfway through my last marathon training plan. I am jealous of everyone’s purple cadence lines!

    • Must confess I never considered a footpod. I’m not sure about the heart rate monitor either – I’m very aware that I’m wearing it and why carry any more than you have to? Happy running!

  3. Fantastic news! And the fact that you’re feeling great about it all, including your health, shows that you’re right on track. Great work, David! 🙂

    • Thanks Jo. New problem this week – it’s almost too hot to run. But I don’t think this difficulty will occur for too long. I’m sure normal weather will soon be back.

Leave a Reply

