The difficult time of year

It’s just over three years since I completed my first and last marathon. It was something to tick off the bucket list and the considerable amount of time required to train for the 26.2 miles run was reason enough never to contemplate another one.

But for those who make that decision this is a difficult time of year. The Edinburgh Marathon Festival weekend is just past and I know loads of folk who were running in one of the events. To see the sense of achievement in their faces; to read their exhilarated posts on social media and to read the varied blog posts about their experience inevitably makes me want to do just one more marathon. I need to have a goal or target to work towards. After marathons those who want to go to the next stage start doing ultras (even more than 26.2 miles) or triathlons. Neither of these options hold any attraction whatsoever to me.

So what do you do? I’ve gone as far as looking at other marathon possibilities. Without succumbing I hasten to add. Meanwhile on the weight-loss task I’m ashamed to admit that I’m still a kilo off my target. No excuses – it’s very straightforward but I haven’t had the necessary willpower!

8 thoughts on “The difficult time of year

  1. I hope you can find a suitably motivating challenge. Running one marathon is extremely impressive; a second would be a superb achievement.

  2. Similar thoughts have been crossing my mind after completing the Comrades Marathon recently. This inspired me to write a blog post on some strategies for staying motivated, at http://www.myepictrails.com.

    I have settled on going for another marathon, but trying to improve my time.

    • Thanks Pieter. I’ll look up your blog with interest. If I did another marathon the reason would be to improve my time. I’m now in a new age category too. The marathon I’m looking at is pretty flat which also makes it attractive!

  3. I know the feeling, i ran a marathon a while ago to tick it off my bucket list and when i came through the finish said never again (the long hours training, the eina of the last few km’s), needless to say i am now looking for another marathon to run, it is addictive.

    • Thanks for the comment. I’m glad to hear that I’m not the only one. I must confess that if I’d been asked to sign a pledge that I would never run another marathon after finishing then I would have signed it on the spot. But three years has dulled the pain, the hours and hours of intensive training, the terrible moments during the marathon where I seriously questioned if I could carry on. But I still remember the wonderful feeling as I crossed the line!

  4. Sounds like your instinct is saying ‘go for it’, David, judging by the comments as well! As for the fitness, it is the goal that will give you the willpower – or the willpower will become secondary to the goal. Believe you can do it! 🙂

    • Thanks Jo. I think you’re absolutely right. I’m tending towards going for this challenge although I haven’t pressed the “enter” button just yet!

Leave a Reply

