One step forward, two steps back

When I used to go hillwalking one of the real physical challenges was ascending the Great Stone Shoot on Sgurr Alasdair on Skye. As you took a step up your foot invariably slipped back before you took your next step up. And to date my attempted weight loss has been exactly the same. I started well getting back into regular running but the 12 day October school holiday proved disastrous as the exercise stopped and the overeating began. I’m not good at disciplined eating when on holiday. We were up north in Wester Ross enjoying wonderful weather and scenery.

IMG_0289

Then when we came back my mother-in-law took unwell and has been in hospital. This has necessitated daily visits; rushed meals which tend to be unhealthy and a bit of comfort eating thrown in. I’ve tried to keep up the exercise but it’s been cold, wet and miserable and on a number of occasions I’ve not even ventured out. However I am a kilo lighter than I was last time I posted so only 4 kilos to go. Can I make progress before the Christmas overeating?

7 thoughts on “One step forward, two steps back

  1. Yes, you can do it, although heading into the festive season is a pretty challenging time to be watching your waistline. Sorry to hear about your mother-in-law and hope she improves soon. It is very difficult to go outside when it’s cold, wet and windy. So much easier and more pleasant to stay in with a cup of tea and a cake.

    • Thanks Lorna. You’ll have no disagreement from me about the benefits of staying in the house with a cup of tea and a bit of cake. I went out running this morning and it was fine when I left. Halfway through the run – at the furthest bit from home – the rain came on and it was a really heavy shower. I was soaked to the skin! My fault for not looking at the forecast!

  2. I can see how difficult it must be, David – this weather is enough to make anyone indulge in comfort eating, and as for going for a run, I will even put off going out to the shed! 🙂 So I can see how you are fixed. However, I know how determined you are, and you can certainly do this, rain or no rain! I hope that your mother-in-law is feeling well again soon.

    • One step forward, two steps back Chris. I find it really hard running in the weather we’re currently experiencing and I got a nasty injury about ten days ago. The pain went away but I haven’t risked running since then. Also I succumbed at Morrisons and bought 6 mince pies. Haven’t weighed myself recently and don’t intend to!

Leave a Reply

