All set for Alloa

After an easy 20 minute jog this morning I’ve completed the 10 week training programme for the Alloa Half Marathon on Sunday. Physically I feel in good shape. I feel the familiar mixture of anticipation and anxiety as the day approaches! A little anxiety is good; it prevents over-confidence and the day I approach a physical challenge without it, I shall know that it is time to stop. The next two days are about getting mentally strong and then going out and running to the very best of my ability on Sunday morning.

Two years ago I ran a fraction under 1 hour 40 minutes. I’d like to beat that time if possible. One bonus is that the weather forecast is for an easterly wind which would mean having the wind behind us on the long four mile stretch. That would be wonderful if it is accurate.

4 thoughts on “All set for Alloa

Leave a Reply

