Still alive!

I’m still alive (and kicking) and apologise for my absence from blogging even if it has given you some relief from my rambling gibberish. Truth to tell I fell into superstition. Each week I didn’t blog my running at parkrun seemed to improve and my long held dream of breaking 20 minutes suddenly seemed possible. I didn’t want to jinx it by blogging so held off and held off until I can hold off no longer or I won’t be able to wish you a very merry Christmas!

So what was behind the improvement in my 5k times? Well two things at least. Firstly I changed my interval training after reading a running blog. Secondly I have been doing physical exercises to build muscle strength. But don’t worry – I haven’t completed the treble by losing weight. Or else this would be a success story rather than an admission of failure.

Four weeks ago I ran a personal best 5k of 20.01. Agonizingly close to sub 20 minutes! Two weeks ago I ran 20.02. Still close. But now I’m resigned to the fact that I won’t do it this year. The weather conditions are now firmly against further improvement. But I do believe now that it is a possibility. And that is a major step forward. This Saturday all being well I will complete my 100th Edinburgh parkrun. After that I’m taking a break from running to enjoy all the festive food and drink. I expect to put on a stone of weight. I’ll keep volunteering at parkrun to encourage my pals and enjoy their successes.

I’ll try and post some pictures of the 100th run next week but I would like to wish you all a wonderful Christmas and all the very best for 2014!

12 thoughts on “Still alive!

  1. David, excuse me for not knowing this already, but aren’t you forty-something? Smashing out 20minute 5k races is an awesome effort, and the back-to-back 20 minute times tells me you’ll go sub-20 early next year once the weather warms up. I’m predicting race 105 as you sub-20 race. You should start a pool…

  2. Great to have you back! I was very amused by your superstitious reason for not blogging. Your times sound amazing to me, and I’m sure you’ll get below 20 minutes in the new year. In the meantime I hope you enjoy your little break from pounding the tarmac, and make the most of your festive feasting. Merry Christmas! 🙂

    • Thanks Lorna. My scone and cake intake has been less than normal for the last three months so I look forward to rectifying that sad state of affairs. And there’s a sherry infused rich fruit Christmas cake with my name on it. Just worried that we get burgled and that is what they take!

      ________________________________

  3. Good to hear from you, David, and a very happy Christmas to you, too! And congratulations on your wonderful 5k time, which is excellent! I have no doubt you’ll whittle it down still further after Christmas. Your cake sounds very good – I have yet to make mine! There’s still time! 🙂 Meanwhile have a wonderful festive season and I look forward to following your progress in the New Year!

    • Thanks very much Jo. Hope you manage to find time to make your cake. I’m going to take a photo of ours once the first slice is cut and post it on the blog. Have a wonderful Christmas and make sure that you take some time to relax!

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

