Repeat ad nauseum

I was obviously thinking deep thoughts the other day as I weeded a hopelessly overgrown flower bed. How many things do we do in life which we just have to keep doing – ad nauseum in many cases. Washing our faces, eating meals, dusting and hoovering the house, filling the car with fuel, sending and receiving birthday cards, talking to folk about the weather? I could go on and on! Clearly there is a lot of money to be made if you can invent something to stop the necessity to keep repeating any of the above – inspiration doesn’t immediately come to me although I do try to avoid dusting and hoovering as much as possible.

But there is something reassuring about routine too. It makes the special things in life stand out. How many days have elapsed since a British player won the mens’ singles tennis title at Wimbledon? So today is a very special day and we wallow in the triumph of Andy Murray.

I’ve been in England for the weekend – quite far south too. It was extremely hot – far too hot for my liking. But the thing that quite often strikes me when I venture any distance south is the difficulty of being understood and understanding what people are saying. There are so many strong regional accents in Britain. At the risk of offending a reader I have to say that the one I really don’t like is the West Midlands / Birmingham one. Lucky then that I was in Lincoln and Northampton when the accents were much kinder on the ear.

4 thoughts on “Repeat ad nauseum

  1. I read a very interesting book a while ago called “Making Habits Breaking Habits” which was all about how and why things become habits and how we can work on creating new habits and getting rid of those we don’t like. The point was made that if we didn’t have habits life would be unbearably exhausting, e.g. having to think about how to tie our shoeleaces all the time, what to do as soon as we get up in the morning, etc. As you say, habits can be very reassuring, and sometimes doing something habitual is a great relief after having to concentrate on something new.

    Andy Murray did something wonderful yesterday, and many congratulations to him. It’s inspiring to see the way his hard work has paid off, just as all your marathon training paid off when the big day came. Would you either of you have managed to succeed the way you did if it hadn’t been for getting into certain habits? I hope you enjoyed your trip south, that was a nice change and Lincolnshire has some lovely parts. It was 25ºC here, which was rather nice, but I wouldn’t have fancied running round a tennis court in it, never mind the 40ºC they had on centre court.

    • Thanks Lorna. Yes establishing good habits as opposed to bad habits would be a good thing. It was something I started to do during marathon training but I definitely couldn’t sustain it. Great triumph for Murray – there must have been times when even he thought it would never happen. Now he’s a legend for ever. Lincoln was great – lots of history – wee bit like York but on a smaller scale!

      ________________________________

  2. I do agree with Lorna, in that some habits can be quite comforting, especially in times of stress and crisis, and also as a strategy for achieving ambitions. I was overjoyed to hear Andy Murray win at Wimbledon (via radio, at a show!) and I have just watched highlights on TV. What an achievement. Those people watching on Centre Court will remember it forever.
    Whenever we go south I’m always horrified at the number of people (and cars) and the increased temperature – it really is that noticeable! As for accents, I must admit to sometimes being puzzled by the Scots-speakers around us at home – the combination of unfamiliar words and the speed of delivery! I can do a good Birmingham accent if you ever feel in need of hearing one! 🙂

    • Thanks Jo but keep that Birmingham accent to yourself please. One of my best friends is from Wolverhampton so it is nothing personal. We did find ourselves having to repeat things to assistants in shops so they must have thought we were pretty weird too. But then my nephew who we were visiting told me that there is not a specifically Lincoln accent as there are a lot of incomers. My favourite regional accent is the Doric in north east Scotland where I grew up. Now that is truly incomprehensible to the outsider.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

